Go Back   planetArmor > planetArmor Features > Tweak Guides - Tips & Trix

Tweak Guides - Tips & Trix Collaborate on kit improvements

Old 05-12-2009, 07:56 PM

tankette Dragon Majic Tracks

I just got a new Dragon model and it has magic tracks but I've never worked with any tracks like this before so I have a question. How do you glue these pieces together? I noticed the track pieces don't click into place so they need so sort of glue. I wanted to know what everyone else is using.

Thanks,
Dave
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-12-2009, 08:32 PM
vBench

Dave,

Here's how I tackled the Magic Tracks in the Jagdtiger kit:

http://www.planetarmor.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2627

HTH,

Stuke
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-12-2009, 11:15 PM

Stuke,
This is great, I can see how you do it is a good idea and will try it but I really do not want to go and buy a new glue (Tamiya extra thin cement) just for the tracks. I will try some other glues I have before I resort to buying this glue you use. Based on what you say about the time the glue is more like a non-permanent glue. Does it get permanent after sitting a long time? I have to see if I have some super glue or other glue lake the Tamiya extra thin cement you use.
Thanks,
Dave
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-13-2009, 03:46 AM
Vbench

Don't use superglue. You will end up with a mess.

The reason people use Tamiya cement is that is it slower than other brands, allowing time to fit sections of track together before they become rigid. You can try and reinvent the wheel if you must, or you can use methods that others have proven to work. Sorry, but I question the wisdom of risking a $50 kit to save $5 on a jar of glue.

Regards
Scott Fraser
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-13-2009, 02:47 PM
vBench

Quote:
The reason people use Tamiya cement is that is it slower than other brands,